Media info

PMAC Awards for Excellence in Investment Journalism

Prix D’Excellence en Journalisme Économique et Financier de L’AGPC

The 2020 competition is now closed.

Download the application.  |  Télécharger l’application.

About the Awards

The purpose of the awards is to promote and reward excellence in Canadian newspaper, magazine and online journalism that fosters a better understanding of the investment industry, its products and services and, ultimately, helps to improve Canadian financial literacy. The secondary purpose is to meet the needs of Canadian investors and the public at large in their search for up-to date information on the economy, and domestic and international financial markets.

New for 2020, there will be two categories of submissions for both short and long articles, with a first and second prize awarded in each category. In addition, one of the winning entries in either the short or long story category will earn the top award and be named as first prize winner overall.

Short Article Awards: One (1) to three (3) different/unrelated articles each of which must be 1,000 words or less

  • First prize $4,000
  • Second prize $3,000

Long Article Awards: One (1) article containing 1,000 words or more; OR one series of related articles.

  • First prize $4,000
  • Second prize $3,000

Top Award: First Prize Overall – $1,000 bonus


  • To be eligible for the 2020 Award, an article must have been published between March 1, 2019 and February 29, 2020 by a Canadian print or online publication, in English or French.
  • Each Award applicant is permitted to make one submission, in either the short article category or long article category.
    • Short Article Awards: One (1) to three (3) different/unrelated articles each of which must be 1,000 words or less.
    • Long Article Awards: One (1) article containing 1,000 words or more; OR one series of related articles.
  • Submissions must have appeared in print publications or on-line media available to the Canadian public.
  • Any article that is written by an employee, director, or officer of a financial services or investment firm is not eligible.


  • Nominations can be made by the author(s) of the submitted article, editor or other employee of the publication, or by the general public at large.
  • Nominations must be received by March 31 each year.
  • The award will be presented at an event held within three months of the application closing date.

Selection Process

Each qualifying entry will be considered in competition with all others by an independent panel of judges / jury de prix that will be appointed annually.

The panel will comprise of an appropriate balance of experienced and knowledgeable professionals with expertise in either the field of journalism or investment/financial services:

  • At least one judge will be fluent in French and English.
  • All potential judges will be screened for any actual or perceived conflict of interest.

In evaluating the merit of an entry, judges shall consider:

  • The article’s content meeting the stated purposes of the Award;
  • Professional journalistic ethics and commonly accepted standards;
  • The constraint of the article length given the complexity of the topic covered; and
  • Journalists that go “above and beyond” to write thoughtful and substantive articles that provide a perspective on topical issues pertinent to the Canadian investing public.

Application Process

To submit your application or to nominate a writer:

  • Complete the application form below
  • Provide a printer-friendly copy of the article(s)
  • Submit package by March 31, 2020 to with subject line “PMAC Awards for Excellence in Investment Journalism”

The 2020 Competition is now Closed. 

Please Note: In light of the ever-changing COVID-19 situation, the deadline to submit your article or series to the 2020 competition has been extended to end-of-day Monday, April 20th.

Download the application.  |  Télécharger l’application.

2020 Call For Entries news release. Appel aux candidatures 2020.

2019 Recipients

First Prize: Janet McFarland The Globe and Mail
Second Prize: David Aston,
Third Prize: Tim Shufelt, The Globe and Mail

The judging panel gave honourable mentions to the following writers:
Natalie Obiko-Pearson and Matthew Campbell,
Niall McGee, The Globe and Mail

Read about the 2019 winners of this award.

Previous Recipients

Read about the 2018 winners of this award.
Read about the 2017 winners of this award.
Read about the 2016 winners of this award.
Read about the 2015 winners of this award.
Read about the 2014 winners of this award.
  |  Lisez à propos des lauréats de ce prix pour cette année 2014.
Read about the 2013 winners of this award.
Read about the 2012 (inaugural) winner of this award.