PMAC Awards for Excellence in Investment Journalism

Prix D’Excellence en Journalisme Économique et Financier de L’AGPC

The 2022 competition will open on March 1, 2022.

About the Awards

The purpose of the awards is to promote and reward excellence in Canadian newspaper, magazine and online journalism that fosters a better understanding of the investment industry, its products and services and, ultimately, helps to improve Canadian financial literacy. The secondary purpose is to meet the needs of Canadian investors and the public at large in their search for up-to date information on the economy, and domestic and international financial markets.

New in 2021, the PMAC Awards expanded eligibility to include podcast submissions in recognition of the growing digital audio format and the contribution of financial podcasters to educate investors by fostering a better understanding of the investment business, its products and services.

A submission may be made in either the long- OR short-form category detailed below:

  • Short Entry Awards: One (1) submission of up to three (3) different/unrelated entries 1,000 words OR 30 minutes or less
    • First prize: $4,000
    • Second prize: $3,000
  • Long Entry Awards: One (1) submission 1,000 words OR 30 minutes or more
    • First prize: $4,000
    • Second prize: $3,000
  • Top Award: First Prize Overall – $1,000 bonus


  • Submissions must have appeared in print, online (text content), or podcast format between March 1, 2021 and February 28, 2022
  • Submissions must have been made available to the Canadian public in English or French
  • Individual journalists are eligible for one (1) submission, in either the Short Entry category OR the Long Entry category
  • Short Entry: One (1) submission of up to three (3) different/unrelated entries
    • Print/Online Article: Each entry must be 1,000 words or less
    • Podcast Series or Installment: Entry must be 30 minutes or less
  • Long entry: One (1) submission
    • Print/Online Article: Entry must be 1,000 words or more; OR one (1) submission of a series of related articles totalling 1,000 words or more
    • Podcast Series or Installment: Entry must be longer than 30 minutes
  • Employees, directors, or officers of a financial services or investment firm are ineligible.

For purpose of eligibility, a submission refers to the collection of entries; an entry refers to an individual story.


  • Nominations can be made by the author(s) of the submitted article(s), editor or other employee of the publication or by the general public at large.
  • Nominations must be received by April 16.
  • The awards will be presented at an event held within three months of the application closing date.

Selection Process

Each qualifying entry will be considered in competition with all others by an independent panel of judges that will be appointed annually.

The panel will comprise of an appropriate balance of experienced and knowledgeable professionals with expertise in either the field of journalism or investment/financial services:

  • At least one judge will be fluent in French and English.
  • All potential judges will be screened for any actual or perceived conflict of interest.

In evaluating the merit of an entry, judges shall consider:

  • The article’s content meeting the stated purposes of the Award;
  • Professional journalistic ethics and commonly accepted standards;
  • The constraint of the article length given the complexity of the topic covered; and
  • Journalists that go “above and beyond” to write thoughtful and substantive articles that provide a perspective on topical issues pertinent to the Canadian investing public.

Application Download & Resources

Application: English| Français

Call for Entries Press Release: English| Français

2021 Recipients

Long Article Category:

First Prize: Mark Burgess (Advisor’s Edge) article: Don’t panic: Client coaching for the 24-hour news cycle. This article also received first prize overall.

Second Prize: Niall McGee (The Globe and Mail) for: How COVID-19 fuelled a boom in Canadian stock promotion scams

Short Article Category:

First Prize: Tim Shufelt (The Globe and Mail) for: Markets Leave The Economy Behind, Portfolio rebalancing is getting trickierFor investors sidelined with cash, market surge presents a dilemma

Second Prize: Gabe Friedman (Financial Post) for his podcast: Market Manipulation or David Vs. Goliath? Unpacking Reddit Phenomena

The judging panel gave honourable mentions to Financial Post’s Kevin Carmichael and Victor Ferreira for FP Investigation: As CEWS flowed in, dividends flowed out

Previous Recipients

Read about the 2020 winners of the awards.
Read about the 2019 winners of this award.
Read about the 2018 winners of this award.
Read about the 2017 winners of this award.
Read about the 2016 winners of this award.
Read about the 2015 winners of this award.
Read about the 2014 winners of this award.
  |  Lisez à propos des lauréats de ce prix pour cette année 2014.
Read about the 2013 winners of this award.
Read about the 2012 (inaugural) winner of this award.