2022 PMAC Awards for Excellence in Investment Journalism Winners Announced

Portfolio Management Association of Canada (PMAC) Announces Winners of


TORONTO, ON, June 7, 2022 – The 2022 PMAC Awards for Excellence in Investment Journalism winners exemplify the breadth and depth of Canadian financial media talent. The winning entries range from a hard-hitting investigation into how Bridging Finance fooled Bay Street to the trend of young investors embracing Do It Yourself (DIY) investing, the pros and cons of investing in crypto, and ESG distractions from the real climate change fight.

This year, eligibility for the PMAC Awards for Excellence in Investment Journalism was expanded to include podcasts in addition to long- and short-form articles, resulting in a record number of submissions from across Canada.

The winners of the 2022 PMAC Awards for Excellence in Investment Journalism are:


1st Prize:

Greg McArthur & Tim Kiladze (Globe and Mail) for: How Bridging Finance fooled Bay Street This article also received first prize overall.

2nd Prize:

David Aston (The Toronto Star) for: Weeding out the hype to find investments that are sound

Honourable Mentions:

Dominique Beauchamp (Les Affaires) for: Un an après avoir voulu acheter Carrefour, Couche- Tard intrigue plus que jamais/ One Year after Bidding on Carrefour, Couche-Tard Is More Intriguing than Ever

Barbara Shecter (Financial Post) for: ‘The pandemic was a litmus test’: Why Canadian firms are seeing an uptick in shareholder activism


1st Prize:

Leah Golob (Canadian Press) for: Younger investors more likely to drop advisers, embrace DIY investing; Don’t let FOMO from social media affect your investing decisions, experts say; ‘Gamified’ apps push DIY traders to make riskier investments

2nd Prize:

Niall McGee (Globe and Mail) for: Burned investor’s ‘pump and dump’ experience raises questions about IIROC


Two podcasts were tied and will share the award:

Gabe Friedman, producer and host (Financial Post) for: ESG ‘fantasy’ distracts from real climate change fight

Kiran Rana, producer and hosted by Rob Carrick and Roma Luciw (Globe and Mail) for: Cryptocurrencies are booming: But should you invest?

“This year’s written and audio submissions covered widely diverse, important and useful information for investors, and our judging panel applauds the many articles and podcasts that contributed to improving the financial literacy of Canadians,” says PMAC President Katie Walmsley.

The competition’s Long and Short Article first prize is $4,000. Second prize is $2,000. The

$4,000 Podcast category prize will be split amongst the tied winners. An additional $1,000 is awarded to the first prize overall. The prizes will be presented at PMAC’s Awards presentation taking place in person on June 22nd.

Details of the annual competition are available on the PMAC website.

About PMAC:

PMAC represents over 300 asset management firms that manage more than $2.9 trillion in assets. Members are all fiduciaries managing investments in the best interests of their clients, which include private individuals, foundations, universities and pension plans. As one of the largest and fastest-growing investment industry associations in Canada, PMAC operates coast- to-coast in English and French-language markets. PMAC employs a collaborative information- sharing business model and advocates on behalf of its members on securities regulation and government policy matters. The association’s mission is to advocate the highest standards of unbiased portfolio management in the interest of investors served by members. Visit us on Twitter and LinkedIn.



Contact: Margo Rapport, Rapport Communications
Email: margo@margorapport.com
Phone: 416-895-5672

Previous Recipients

Read about the 2021 winners of the awards. | Lisez à propos des lauréats de ce prix pour cette année 2022.
Read about the 2020 winners of the awards.
Read about the 2019 winners of this award.
Read about the 2018 winners of this award.
Read about the 2017 winners of this award.
Read about the 2016 winners of this award.
Read about the 2015 winners of this award.
Read about the 2014 winners of this award.
  |  Lisez à propos des lauréats de ce prix pour cette année 2014.
Read about the 2013 winners of this award.
Read about the 2012 (inaugural) winner of this award.