Call for Entries: 2018 Journalism Award

Award for Excellence in Investment Journalism 2018 Call for Entries

Prix d’excellence en journalisme économique et financier de l’AGPC Appel à candidatures pour 2018

First-place winner will receive $5,000, second place $3,000 and third place $2,000

Key Dates:

Entries Close: March 31st, 2018
Journalism Award Dinner: Tuesday, June 12th, 2018

TORONTO, ON, February 21, 2018 – Ending a year with little market volatility and entering a new one of unprecedented market swings and jitters may be top of mind for many, but what best-of topics, trends and issues were Canadian print and online financial journalists writing about in 2017 and the first quarter of 2018?  It’s time to find out with the 2018 PMAC Award for Excellence in Investment Journalism. Since 2012, the Portfolio Management Association of Canada (PMAC) has sponsored this definitive annual investment journalism contest.  Its aim is to encourage and recognize quality writing that educates investors by fostering a better understanding of the investment industry, its products and services.

Entries may include investigative journalism, personal finance issues and advice, innovative educational topics and/or regulatory issues that impact the investing public.  Past winning submissions have covered original, lesser known, and topical subjects of benefit to investors. Previous winners include some of the most well-known and respected names in financial journalism whose work made a difference to investors.

“Our award program recognizes those writers who go above and beyond to write substantive and original articles of true value to the investing public,” says PMAC president Katie Walmsley. “When Canadian investors benefit from clear and thoughtful reporting on investment issues, the media is a significant contributor to their new-found knowledge.”

The first-place winner will receive $5,000, second place $3,000 and third place $2,000 at an awards ceremony to be held in their honour. Articles must have been published in print or online media publications and must have been available to the Canadian public between March 1, 2017 and February 28, 2018.  Journalists may submit their own articles in English or French or be nominated by a representative of the publishing entity.  Submissions may consist of an individual article or a series of up to three related articles. If the series consists of more than three articles, please submit your best three. The deadline for submissions is March 31. Complete entry details can be viewed here.

The judging panel consists of seven investment and financial experts whose accomplishments are well-established within the journalism and financial communities. PMAC gives them complete independence in the judging process. This year, PMAC is pleased to welcome two additional judges joining the panel: Dawn Scott and Tracy LeMay. Biographies for each judge can be viewed here.

Winners will be announced the week of May 14, 2018.  The award presentation dinner will take place in Toronto on June 12, 2018. Submissions should be made by March 31, 2018 to Please specify “Award for Excellence in Investment Journalism” in the subject line of the email.

About PMAC
Portfolio Management Association of Canada represents over 240 investment management firms that manage more than $1.5 trillion in assets for private individuals, foundations, universities and pension plans. The Association advocates for the highest standards of unbiased portfolio management in the interest of investors served by members.


For further information contact:

Margo Rapport, Rapport Communications
416 895-5672