Media Advisory – Call for Entires: 2019 PMAC Award for Excellence in Investment Journalism

First-place winner will receive $5,000, second place $3,000, and third place $2,000

TORONTO, ON, March 5, 2019 – The PMAC Award for Excellence in Investment Journalism celebrates and recognizes thoughtful and quality writing that educates investors by fostering a better understanding of the investment industry, its products, and services.  PMAC welcomes your submissions to this definitive Canadian investment journalism honour by March 31, 2019.

Entries may include investigative journalism, personal investment issues and advice, innovative educational topics and/or regulatory issues that impact the investing public.  Past winning submissions have covered original, lesser known, and topical subjects of benefit to investors. Previous winners include some of the most recognizable and respected names in financial journalism whose work has made a difference to investors.

“Media is a valuable and significant factor in and contributor to elevating and enhancing the financial knowledge of Canadian investors,” says PMAC President, Katie Walmsley. “The PMAC Award for Excellence in Investment Journalism pays tribute to those writers who go above and beyond to present substantive, clear, and thoughtful original articles that benefit everyday Canadian investors.”

The first-place winner will receive $5,000, second place $3,000, and third place $2,000 at an awards ceremony to be held in their honour on June 19th in Toronto.  Articles must have been published in print or online media publications and must have been available to the Canadian public between March 1, 2018 and February 28, 2019.  Journalists may submit their own articles in English or French, be nominated by a representative of the publishing entity, or by the general public at large. Each award applicant is permitted to make one submission consisting of:

  • One (1) to three (3) different/unrelated articles each of which must be 1,000 words or less; OR
  • One (1) article containing 1,000 words or more; OR
  • One (1) series of related articles

The deadline for submissions is March 31st. Complete entry details can be viewed here. The judging panel consists of six investment and financial experts whose accomplishments are well-established within the journalism and financial communities. PMAC gives them complete independence in the judging process. Biographies for each judge can be viewed here.

Winners will be announced in May. The award presentation dinner will take place in Toronto on June 19th. Submissions should be made by March 31st to Please specify “Award for Excellence in Investment Journalism” in the subject line of the email.

The Portfolio Management Association of Canada represents over 265 investment management firms that manage more than $2.1 trillion in assets for private individuals, foundations, universities and pension plans. The Association advocates for the highest standards of unbiased portfolio management in the interest of investors served by members.


For further information contact:
Margo Rapport, Rapport Communications
416 895-5672